GRAND PORT

Rs 3,760 ≃ 94 Euros

Will be provided: Water, light snack, juice, coffee, lunch (meal-dessert or coffee), helmet, security vehicle, professional guides, entrance to various places

DISCOVER CENTURIES OLD WILD COASTLINE

Electro-Bike Discovery brings you to the heart of the wild coastline having retained its centuries-old unique blend of enchantment and charm.

Cycle through the maze formed by the rugged lanes and indulge your senses with the scent of curry and the sight of smiling faces while discovering the last vestiges of Dutch, French and British colonisation such as the historic train station or the old tank.

Route

Our journey begins with coffee or fresh juice in the colonial house, ‘Jardin de Beau Vallon’. Under the protective gaze of Lion Mountain, we head to ‘Bois des Amourettes’, a small village whose jetty, built during the Vieux Grand Port naval battle, provides an amazing view of the surrounding islets. (Optional)

Our next stop is the remains of the Dutch-built ‘Fréderick Hendrick Fort’, the first stone building of the Indian Ocean.

During the week, we meet craftsmen weaving traditional “vacoas” baskets, a dwindling trade which has been the livelihood of Vieux Grand Port villagers for 200 years. (Upon request on weekends). You may even get the opportunity to participate in the weaving of baskets with the craftsmen.

Afterwards we join up with Pop, one of the last “ranzer pirog” or marine carpenters of the island, and savour tamarind juice prepared by his wife, Salima.
We resume our journey and head towards the undulating landscape of ‘Vallée de Ferney’, a magnificent wildlife reserve. An endemic plant (the Ebony tree) is set to be replanted there. This symbolic gesture is highly significant and will allow the reforestation of the Valley.

Perched at the top of the Cliff, we sample the local menu for lunch at “Falaise rouge” restaurant while enjoying the panoramic view. This area was strategic in one of the most important battles of Grand-Port.

Our route leads us to Cavendish Bridge where we cross La Chaux river and reach ‘Ville Noire’. This neighbouring village of Mahebourg is highly authentic, swarming with villagers and local merchants.

We then go to the seafront promenade to admire the splendid view of the Vieux Grand Port Bay, Lion Mountain and Mouchoir Rouge Island. To end this journey in the heart of history, we go to the National Historical Naval Museum in Mahebourg located in an old colonial residence and showcasing an interesting collection of relics recovered from sunken ships, models, old maps and weapons, wonderful lithographs of remarkable Mauritians, landscape paintings and even the skeleton of the famous dodo…
(The museum is closed on Wednesdays, Sundays and public holidays).

Practical information

Our qualified guides, escorted by a safety vehicle, provide useful and factual information throughout the ride at strategic sites and provide opportunities for you to appreciate the magnificent scenery along the route.

Departure: 8.20 a.m. – Arrival: 3.00 p.m.

  • Starting point: ‘Le Jardin de Beau Vallon’, in Beau Vallon
  • Finishing point: ‘Le Jardin de Beau Vallon’, in Beau Vallon
  • Duration: approx. 6 hrs.
  • An itinerary and safety rules debrief by the guide, etc.
  • Will be provided: Water, light snack, juice, coffee, lunch (meal-dessert or coffee), helmet, security vehicle, professional guides, entrance to various places
  • To bring: Sports shoes, sunscreen and sunglasses.
  • You will be afforded the opportunity of buying local souvenirs. Bring spare cash as credit cards cannot be used.
  • Lunch : We have lunch at “Falaise rouge”, a local restaurant with a sublime view of the lagoon. Meal – dessert or coffee – water.
Cancellations

We reserve the right to cancel the ride in the event of torrential rainfall. If you wish to cancel or postpone your ride; three possibilities are provided as follows:

  • 48h prior to the event = full refund
  • 24h prior to the event = 50% refund
  • On the day of the event = non-refundable

In the event of unexpected bad weather after the ride has begun, the ride shall not be refundable. We will, however, do our best to adapt to the situation and make the remaining journey as pleasant and as satisfactory as possible.

Souvenirs

Photos of your ride in Mauritius will be available on CD for a price of Rs 800.

Number of  participants

Maximum number of participants for each ride: 12 persons.

Safety

For the entire duration of the ride and for all our rides, a safety vehicle will escort the group on drivable roads.

For the comfort, safety and experience of everyone, all children must (prior to the outing) have a good bike-riding ability and must be at least 1.47m or more in height.

bandeau-pedale-chamarel

A little piece of history…

Mahebourg is the biggest village on the southeastern coast of Mauritius and a very characteristic region of the island. Bearing the name of Mahé de La Bourdonnais, this coastal village is known for the straight roads which have been traced down its oldest area. Even though Mahebourg experienced a sharp decline in activity when France chose Port-Louis as the main harbour of the island, relics from the Dutch, French and British colonial times can still be seen here and there. They are omnipresent in this lovely part of Mauritius. Electro-Bike Discovery will help you discover those treasures which lend an undeniable natural charm to the village.

GRAND PORT

Rs 3,260 ≃ 81 Euros

Seront fournis : vélos, casque de sécurité, véhicule de sécurité (pour plus de 4 personnes), guides professionnels, déjeuner (Plat-dessert ou café), eau, jus, léger encas, entrées aux divers endroits.

DECOUVERTE D’UNE COTE SAUVAGE DES SIECLES PASSES.

Explore nou zil, vous emmène au cœur d’une côte encore sauvage où se mêlent enchantements et charmes des siècles passés.

Roulez dans des dédales de petits chemins escarpés, où flottent des odeurs de carry (plat typique de ‘Moris’), croisez des visages souriants et allez à la découverte de vestiges des occupations Hollandaise, Française et Britannique qui sont encore visibles telles que l’ancienne gare ferroviaire ou la vieille citerne. Une activité non-touristique accessible à tous.

L’itinéraire

Notre Balade commencera par un café dans la maison coloniale du Jardin de Beau Vallon. Sous le regard protecteur de la montagne du Lion, direction les ruines hollandaises du Fort Fréderick Hendrick, première construction en pierres de l’océan Indien.

En semaine, nous pourrons rencontrer des artisans confectionnant les traditionnels paniers en vacoas (paniers très utilisés à ‘Moris’), un métier en voie de disparition qui a fait vivre les villageois de vieux grand port pendant 200 ans. (Sur demande pour les week-end).

Puis nous irons rejoindre Pop, l’un des derniers « ranzer pirog de Moris » ou charpentier marin de l’île, tout en sirotant un jus de tamarin préparé par Salima, sa femme. L’espace d’un instant, tel un habitant, vivez à la mauricienne en toute simplicité.

Nous reprendrons la route vers la Vallée de Ferney, magnifique réserve naturelle aux paysages vallonnés. Niché au sommet de la Falaise, Dans un panorama somptueux, nous irons déjeuner un menu local au restaurant « Falaise rouge ». Ce lieu fut un endroit stratégique de l’une des plus grandes batailles de Grand- Port.

Le parcours nous emmènera sur le Pont Cavendish pour enjamber la rivière La Chaux et arriver à Ville Noire. Ce faubourg de Mahébourg frappe par son caractère authentique, grouillant de villageois et de petits marchands.

Nous irons ensuite au front de mer, admirer la splendide vue sur la baie du Vieux Grand Port, la montagne du Lion et l’île du Mouchoir Rouge. Pour conclure cette balade au cœur de l’histoire, nous irons au Musée naval de Mahébourg situé dans une ancienne demeure coloniale et proposant une intéressante collection de reliques récupérées dans des épaves, des maquettes, cartes et armes d’époque, de magnifiques lithographies de notables mauriciens, des peintures des paysages ou encore les ossements du fameux dodo…
(Les mercredis, dimanches ou jours fériés, le musée est fermé).

Mais pourquoi ce nom de mouchoirs rouges ?

‘Explore nou Zil’ avec nous à Grand Port

INFOS PRATIQUES

Suivis d’un véhicule de sécurité, nos guides mauriciens qualifiés commenteront votre balade sur des lieux stratégiques et vous feront admirer les magnifiques paysages.

Départ: 8 h 20 – Arrivée: 15 h 00

  • Point de départ & d’arrivée : Le Jardin de Beau Vallon, Beau Vallon.
  • Durée : environ 6 h 00. Tout au long du parcours, le guide proposera divers arrêts à des points stratégiques afin de vous faire découvrir l’histoire ou les anecdotes de l’endroit, faire une pause photo ou profiter d’un moment de détente.
  • Seront fournis : vélos, casque de sécurité, véhicule de sécurité (pour plus de 4 personnes), guides professionnels, déjeuner (Plat-dessert ou café), eau, jus, léger encas, entrées aux divers endroits.
  • À prévoir : Des chaussures de sport, de la crème solaire et des lunettes de soleil.
  • Vous aurez la possibilité d’acheter des petits souvenirs locaux (Notamment des produits artisanaux en Vacoas), prévoyez de la monnaie car la carte de crédit ne pourra pas être utilisée.
  • Déjeuner : Nous déjeunerons un repas local au restaurant “ Falaise Rouge” avec une vue somptueuse sur le lagon. (Plat – dessert ou café – Eau)
Annulations

En cas de pluies torrentielles, nous nous réservons le droit d’annuler la balade. Si vous souhaitez annuler ou repousser votre balade,
trois alternatives s’offrent à vous :

  • 48 h avant = gratuit
  • 24 h avant = 50 % du prix de la balade devra être réglé
  • le jour même = non remboursable

Une fois la balade commencée, elle ne pourra être remboursée en cas d’intempéries. Nous ferons cependant de notre mieux pour nous adapter à la situation et rendre le parcours agréable et satisfaisant. (Une cape anti-pluie vous sera prêtée).

Souvenirs

Les photos de votre balade à l’île Maurice seront disponibles sur un CD à Rs 800.

Nombre de participants

Nombre maximum de participants pour chaque randonnée : 14 personnes.

Afin de pouvoir faire la balade dans de bonnes conditions les enfants doivent mesurer  1,47m  et bien savoir-faire du vélo.

bandeau-pedale-chamarel

MAHÉBOURG / GRAND PORT & SON HISTOIRE

Mahébourg est le plus grand village de la côte sud-est de Maurice, région la plus typique de l’île. Portant le nom de Mahé de La Bourdonnais, cette petite ville côtière est caractérisée par ses rues tracées en ligne droite dans sa partie la plus ancienne. Si l’activité de la ville déclina lorsque la France choisit Port-Louis comme port principal de l’île, Mahébourg laisse apparaître çà et là les vestiges des occupations hollandaise, française et britannique, omniprésents dans cette magnifique région. Explore nou zil vous fera découvrir ces trésors qui confèrent au lieu un charme naturel incontestable.