SOUILLAC – Rs 3,290 ≃ 82 Euros

Will be provided: Lunch at a local resident, water, coffee, fresh fruit juice, seasonal fruits and a safety helmet.

The wild and authentic South

Riding an Electro-Bike (electric power-assisted bicycle) comes with the added advantage of significant assistance, therefore allowing you to enjoy the scenery, to abandon yourselves to the myriad of sensations offered by Mauritius, to be closer to the local population and to simply live and share one of the most authentic of experiences.

Small fishing villages, stunning waterfalls, the sparkling waters of the ocean crashing against the cliffs, gorgeous panoramas, peaceful gardens, historical sites… So many sites and milestones of the beauty of our island and of its rich history that will inspire your very own memories…

The route

The ride begins at the “Place du Moulin” in Bel Ombre, where we head towards La Baie de Jakotet and then in the direction of the village of Rivière des Galets. Thereafter, we discover the Batelage of Grand River South-East, the former harbour of Souillac. We also visit one of the oldest churches in Mauritius, the church of Saint-Jacques. We then make a stop at the charming Telfair Gardens, the colonial judiciary and the former train station.

From the top of the Gris-Gris cliffs at “La Nef”, former house of the poet, R. E. Hart, we get to enjoy the spectacular view that the poet so loved before visiting “La Roche Qui Pleure” (The Weeping Rock). Upon the return journey, we get to taste some delicious local meals thanks to the generous and dynamic Mrs Mala; an unforgettable moment of generosity and local hospitality. We then hit the road again, and our next stop is St Felix, where we enjoy a snack and head to the Riambel public beach and continue our journey to the Bel Ombre Sugar Estate which marks the end of our ride.

N.B. Throughout the ride, your guide will stop at various strategic sites so as to share the history and tales of the area, to give the opportunity for a few snapshots or to simply relax a little.

Optional – for sports groups: The waterfall of Rochester Falls
Available for a group of at least 10 persons: immerse yourself in nature and then take a refreshing dip at these wonderful waterfalls. The trail through the sugar cane fields leading to the waterfall takes an additional forty minutes and requires additional effort. It is advisable that participants are in good shape for this, but this getaway is worth the extra effort.

Practical Information

Our qualified guides, escorted by a safety vehicle, provide useful and factual information throughout the ride at strategic sites and provide opportunities for you to appreciate the magnificent scenery along the route.

Departure: 8.30 a.m. – Arrival: 3.00 p.m.

  • Starting point: “Place du Moulin” in Bel Ombre.
  • Finishing point: “Place du Moulin” in Bel Ombre.
  • Duration: approx. 6 hrs.
  • An itinerary and safety rules debrief by the guide, etc.
  • Will be provided: Lunch at a local resident, water, coffee, fresh fruit juice, seasonal fruits and a safety helmet.
  • To bring: Sports shoes, sunscreen and sunglasses.
  • You will be afforded the opportunity of buying local souvenirs. Bring spare cash as credit cards cannot be used.
  • Lunch is served at approx. 12.30; we get to enjoy the delicious sweet and sour vegetarian local specialities.
Cancellations

We reserve the right to cancel the ride in the event of torrential rainfall. If you wish to cancel or postpone your ride; three possible alternatives are provided:

  • 48h prior to the event = full refund
  • 24h prior to the event = 50% refund
  • on the day of the event = non-refundable

In the event of unexpected bad weather after the ride has begun, the ride shall not be refundable. We will, however, do our best to adapt to the situation and make the remaining journey as pleasant and as satisfactory as possible.

Souvenirs

Photos of your ride in Mauritius shall be available on CD for Rs 800.

Number of participants

Maximum number of participants for each ride: 12 persons.

Safety

For the entire duration of the ride and for all our rides, a safety vehicle will escort the group on drivable roads.

For the comfort, safety and experience of everyone, all children must (prior to the outing) have a good bike-riding ability and must be at least 1.47m or more in height.

bandeau-pedale-souillac

A bit of history

« Nef qui passe, je suis le phare qui demeure… », Robert-Edward Hart

Souillac is a small village of some six thousand inhabitants located in the far south of the island. The long and deep estuary of the Savanne River, free from any coral reef and therefore, allowing boats to dock, encouraged François de Souillac to build a port named Batelage, both for the defence of this region and for trade – Mauritius being an important port of call on the route to India. It even became one of the busiest ports under British rule for the transport of sugar in particular. Today, it is the fishermen, farmers and artisans that bring this charming and picturesque village to life.

Its remoteness from the hustle and bustle of city life, its pristine nature, untamed like the waves which incessantly crash on the Gris-Gris cliffs, are what characterise the natural beauty of Souillac. The spectacular “Roche Qui Pleure” (Weeping Rock), the vegetation sculpted throughout the years by the trade winds, the fabulous sounds of the sea, undoubtedly fuelled the imagination of the poet, Robert-Edward Hart, inviting the later to take to the water and call his home “La Nef” (The Nave). One can visit his grave at the Souillac marine cemetery.

SOUILLAC – Rs 2,480 ≃ 62 Euros

Journée complète incluant, déjeuner, jus frais, un encas, café.

Le sud sauvage et authentique

Se balader en electro-bike (vélo à assistance électrique), c’est bénéficier d’une aide notable, vous permettant ainsi de profiter agréablement des paysages, de vous abandonner aux mille sensations qu’offre l’île Maurice, d’être au plus près de la population locale, bref de vivre et partager une expérience riche en authenticité.

Simples villages de pêcheurs, splendides cascades, noires falaises luttant contre l’écume éclatante, magnifiques panoramas, jardins reposants, lieux historiques… Autant de jalons de la beauté de notre île Maurice et de son passé qui inspireront vos propres souvenirs…

L’itinéraire

La balade démarrera à la « Place du Moulin » à Bel Ombre en direction de La Baie de Jakotet. Nous prendrons la direction du village de Rivière des Galets. De là, nous découvrirons le Batelage de la Grande Rivière Sud-Est, l’ancien port de Souillac et l’ église Saint-jacques qui est l’une des plus anciennes de l’ ile Maurice. Nous passerons ensuite au charmant Jardin Telfair, à la magistrature coloniale, et à l’ancienne gare de train.

À « La Nef », ancienne maison du poète R.-E. Hart, nous profiteront de la magnifique vue qu’il aimait tant du haut des falaises de Gris-Gris, puis nous irons vers « La Roche Qui Pleure ». Sur le retour, nous dégusterons de délicieux plats locaux chez la généreuse et dynamique Madame Mala, un moment inoubliable de générosité et de chaleur humaine. Nous reprendrons la route pour faire une halte à St Felix, ou une collation vous sera donnée, nous passerons à la plage publique de Riambel, et nous continuerons notre route jusqu’à l’ usine Sucrière de Bel Ombre qui signera la fin de notre excursion.

N.B. Tout au long du parcours, le guide proposera divers arrêts à des points stratégiques afin de vous faire découvrir l’histoire ou les anecdotes de l’endroit, faire une pause photo ou profiter d’un moment de détente.

En option pour les groupes sportifs: Les cascades de Rochester Falls
Pour un groupe d’au moins 10 personnes, nous vous proposons une immersion en pleine nature suivie d’une baignade rafraîchissante aux magnifiques cascades . Si le parcours d’une quarantaine de minutes supplémentaires à travers les champs de cannes est un peu physique et nécessite d’être plutôt en forme, l’évasion est garantie et vaut bien un petit effort supplémentaires.

Infos pratiques

Suivi d’un véhicule de sécurité, nos guides qualifiés commenteront votre balade sur des lieux stratégiques et vous ferons admirer les magnifiques paysages.

Cette balade se fera uniquement le mardi et le jeudi.

Départ: 8 h 30 – Arrivée: 15h00

  • Point de départ : La « Place du Moulin » à Bel Ombre.
  • Point d’arrivée : Usine sucrière de Bel Ombre.
  • Durée : environ 6 h00.
  • Briefing du guide sur l’organisation, les règles de sécurité, etc.
  • Seront fournis : Déjeuner chez l’habitant, eau, café, jus de fruits frais, fruit de saison, casque de sécurité.
  • À prévoir : Des chaussures de sport, de la crème solaire, des lunettes de soleil, un maillot de bain, une serviette et des vêtements de rechange.
  • Vous aurez la possibilité d’acheter des petits souvenirs locaux. Prévoyez de la monnaie car la carte de crédit ne pourra pas être utilisée.
  • Au déjeuner, vers 12 h 30, nous dégusterons de délicieuses spécialités locales salées et sucrées végétariennes.
Annulations

En cas de pluies torrentielles, nous nous réservons le droit d’annuler la balade. Si vous souhaitez annuler ou repousser votre balade,
trois alternatives s’offrent à vous :

  • 48 h avant = gratuit
  • 24 h avant = 50 % du prix de la balade devra être réglé
  • le jour même = non remboursable

Une fois la balade commencée, elle ne pourra pas être remboursée en cas d’intempéries. Nous ferons cependant de notre mieux pour nous adapter à la situation et rendre le parcours agréable et satisfaisant.

Souvenirs

Les photos de votre balade à l’île Maurice seront disponibles sur un CD à Rs 800.

Nombre de participants

Nombre maximum de participants pour chaque randonné: 12 personnes.

Sécurité

Toutes nos balades sont suivies d’un véhicule de sécurité qui suivra le groupe sur les routes carrossables et tout au long du parcours.

Afin de pouvoir faire la balade dans de bonnes conditions les enfants doivent mesurer  1,47m  et bien savoir-faire du vélo.

bandeau-pedale-souillac

Un peu d’histoire

« Nef qui passe, je suis le phare qui demeure… », Robert-Edward Hart

Souillac est un petit village de quelque six mille habitants, dans l’extrême sud de l’île Maurice. Le long et profond estuaire de la rivière Savanne, sans barrière de corail, permettant ainsi aux bateaux d’accoster, a poussé François de Souillac à construire un port, nommé Batelage, pour la défense de cette région et pour le commerce, l’île Maurice étant une escale importante sur la routes des Indes. Il devient même le port le plus actif sous les Anglais, notamment pour le transport du sucre. Aujourd’hui, pêcheurs, agriculteurs, artisans animent ce charmant village au charme pittoresque.

La beauté sauvage de Souillac tient à son éloignement de la vie mouvementée des villes, à sa nature préservée, indomptable, à l’image des falaises de Gris-Gris, où viennent perpétuellement se briser les vagues. La spectaculaire « Roche Qui Pleure », la végétation sculptée à longueur d’année par les alizés, l’appel incessant de la mer en chants fabuleux, ont sans doute nourri l’imagination du poète Robert-Edward Hart, l’invitant à prendre le large puisqu’il a baptisé sa maison « La Nef ». Sa tombe peut être visitée au cimetière marin de Souillac.